Clay Oven project

I like cooking, I like fires. I had a notion to make a clay oven. Looked it up on the Internet and before I knew it I had ordered clay and fire bricks.
I thoroughly enjoyed making it too!

20130811-115017.jpg
Mixing clay, sand and water with my feet! I used a ratio of two buckets of clay to five of sand. I pummelled it with my feet for about an hour! A strangely satisfying experience.
Once I could hold a piece of ‘cob’ flattened in my upside down hand for the count of five it was well mixed.

Next was to find a place to put the oven. It needs cover in whatever form, a shower of rain will make it collapse.
I had some bricks lying about and made a base to lift my oven off the floor, on hindsight I wished I had put it much higher up.
I put a layer of cob over the bricks this will be the bottom if my clay oven.
I then put the fire bricks on top of that to make the oven base.

20130818-141812.jpg
Next I used about two bags of wet sharp sand.
I mounded the moist sand on top of the fire bricks.

20130818-142336.jpg

Next was to cover the mound of sand in three layers of wet newspaper.

20130818-142507.jpg

Next is to cover the newspaper in the cob. Start from the bottom and work up covering all of the newspaper.

20130818-142736.jpg

The remainder of the cob needs to be mixed with some straw and a further layer applied to the oven.

20130818-142947.jpg
And leave to dry…..

This is the frustrating bit! After about four days I pulled a little bit of the sand from the front and lit a small fire in it! I was terrified it was going to collapse. It didn’t! It did speed up the drying time and I managed within a week to get all of the sand out and with a fire get the clay dry.

20130818-143301.jpg
This has been my favourite post on Planet Jam Jar cottage. I was pleased I achieved this little project on my own! It has gotten the cogs and wheels in my mind going of what I can make in this little oven! I am looking forward to posting some recipes of hopefully some yummy food and hopefully not too many disasters!!
These ovens cost a fortune to buy and a fraction of the cost to make, it’s been really enjoyable too.

2 thoughts on “Clay Oven project

Leave a Reply

