Slimming world diet coke quorn recipe!

20140417-102356.jpg

Thought I would post about the ‘new’ vegetarian slimming world recipes I have been making but vegetarian versions.
Diet coke chicken is a popular ‘syn free’ dinner. I made this with quorn which is a ‘free food’ in the slimming world diet.
Here’s what I did….
1 packet of quorn chunks
1 tin of chopped tomatoes
1 large red onion sliced up
1 large red pepper chopped up
1 packet of button mushrooms
2 cloves of garlic
1 teaspoon of paprika
1 teaspoon of Brown HP sauce
1 can of diet coke
Fry light

Salt and pepper

Easy peasy to make! Fry the onion and garlic briefly. Add in the mushrooms pepper and Quorn cook until lightly browned.
Mix tomatoes, HP sauce and diet coke in a jug and mix together, using diet coke as an ingredient seems very strange I have to admit! The recipe actually is supposed to be Worcester sauce but as that is not vegetarian friendly I opted for HP sauce.
Then add to the quorn and pepper mixture add the paprika and cook until it reduces down add salt and pepper to taste.
I served this lovely sweet and sour barbecue tasting dish with boiled rice!
Lovely!

3 thoughts on “Slimming world diet coke quorn recipe!

  1. This is amazing! I have recommended it to several slimming world veggies like myself… I don’t like peppers so I used leeks and they worked really nicely and didn’t reduce the flavour (I did chuck in a bit more paprika and W. Sauce thought in case). Just out of interest, I use veggie Worcester Sauce all the time – Biona make it and you can buy it on Amazon – it has a good flavour and my other half can’t tell the difference….. Keep up the good work – your recipes are fabulous and creative and I love them! I am just about to experiment with added chickpeas in the scotch eggs – I may have overcooked them and they came out a little dry but did taste like a scotch egg! 🙂

    • Hi Ted! Thanks for your comments, It was fun to find recipes that don’t make you feel like you are on a diet 🙂
      I purchased my first bottle of Biona Worcester sauce, I have to admit I keep forgetting to use it as I put that ingredient out of my head as The well known brand contains fish. I imagine it enhanced the flavour of this recipe nicely!
      Yes those scotch eggs are lovely, a sort of open the fridge door when you want to eat some junk happiness, as on the diet they are very much allowed, if you use the Linda Mcartney’s Vegetarian Rosemary and Red Onion sausages !. I think chickpeas will work well with them, I recently saw a recipe that uses Vegetarian Haggis instead of the sausages, I guess a bit of both would be good!!! See off I go 😋
      I am chuffed to bits with your comments, thanks 🙂 Jo

Leave a Reply

